Development of Munich Airport in Riem

The development of Munich airport from 1900 to 2000. Technical development, setbacks and political decisions of the airport in a 100 year review.

From the grass runway to the modern airport

Aviation has been an issue in Munich since 1920. The first aircraft took off and landed on grass runways in Oberwiesenfeld. However, it quickly became clear that this airfield would not meet the requirements of modern aviation in the long term. A modern airport was built in Riem, which was badly damaged by the war years and was hastily renovated after the end of the war. By the end of the 1960s, the modernized Munich Airport had grown to meet the requirements of Munich air traffic. The 1972 Summer Olympics and the increasing demand for package tours gave an indication that the airport in Riem was becoming too small. Initially, plans were developed to further expand the airport in Riem. However, the Öchsle Commission came to the conclusion that it was planning a new major airport outside of Munich. For Riem, this meant that the time until the completion of Munich's new major airport was compensated for in the coming years with hastily implemented "bridging measures", while at the same time the demand for flight capacities increased dramatically. So until the very end, the Riemer Airport had to be held together with patchwork, until it could finally be “redeemed” in 1992.

Although the new Munich Airport in Erdinger Moos has already been planned on a large scale, but had to be neutered due to public petitions (e.g. only 2 runways instead of 4), development has not stood still there for years. An airport never stands still - at least in Bavaria.

 

Milestones of Munich Riem Airport

  • May 3, 1931
  • June 1, 1936
  • January 11, 1937
  • October 25, 1939
  • March 1, 1948
  • November 22, 1949
  • June 16, 1951
  • October 25, 1965
  • June 13, 1968
  • 4th August 1969
  • 5th August 1969
  • 11th August 1969
  • December 1, 1970
  • April 21, 1971
  • April 26, 1971
  • June 3, 1971
  • 3rd November 1980
  • April 16, 1981
  • December 9, 1987
  • November 15, 1988
  • Opening of Oberwiesenfeld Airport

    Munich's Oberwiesenfeld has provided a landing area for balloons and airships since the end of the 19th century. With the increased number of aircraft, the Oberwiesenfeld airfield was used as a military airfield from 1909, and from 1920 it also functioned for civil air traffic. However, the Oberwiesenfeld airfield was unable to meet the steadily growing demands of air traffic: [...]
  • Planning for a new airport in Munich

    The airfield in Oberwiesenfeld no longer meets the requirements for air traffic despite extensions in 1931. In 1936 the planning of a new airport in Munich-Riem started. The architect is Ernst Sagebiel, who was also responsible for the airports in Berlin, Stuttgart and Dresden.
  • Start of construction at Munich-Riem Airport

    In 1937 the construction of the Munich Riem Airport began. In 1938 the construction was largely completed. The control tower with the administration building behind it, as well as the reception hall (coat of arms hall) and the aircraft hangars were built over a length of about 400 meters. The construction costs amounted to around 32,000 million Reichsmarks.
  • New air airport in the state capital Munich

    The relocation of civil air traffic from Oberwiesenfeld Airport to the new Munich-Riem Airport has been completed. In 1936, a place south of Riem was chosen as the new location for Munich Airport. Construction began in 1937, the planning for the airport was carried out by the architect Ernst Sagebiel, who was also responsible for the Berlin Tempelhof and Dresden airports [...]
  • Start of weather recording at Munich Airport

    On March 1st, 1948, the climate measurement and weather recording at Munich-Riem Airport began. Up until September 1949, the match observation and weather advice was carried out by American personnel, when the airport was handed over, the transition to weather forecasting was carried out by German meteorologists. Since March 1950 weather observations have been carried out in Riem. Sources: https://www.dwd.de/
  • Commissioning of the new runway

    On November 22, 1949, in addition to the airport restaurant with ballroom, beer parlor and sun terrace, as well as 10 new hotel rooms directly in the airport, the new 1907 meter long and 60 meter wide runway at Munich Airport went into operation. On the new runway, which was built using bituminous construction and hardened in a special process, [...]
  • Opening of the coat of arms hall at Riem Airport

    Originally, the Munich-Riem Airport, including the impressive reception hall, also known as the Wappenhalle, was to be officially opened on September 1st, 1939 - but this was prevented by the simultaneous start of the Second World War. After the end of the war, 70%s at the airport were destroyed, and the coat of arms hall was also badly damaged. For example, the roof of the coat of arms hall with the valuable coffered ceiling collapsed. In the absence of a functioning check-in hall [...]
  • Opening of the Lufthansa maintenance hall

    After a year and a half of construction, the new Lufthansa hangar, which was built primarily for the “Euro-Jet” (Boeing 727), is ceremoniously opened. The decision to build the Lufthansa maintenance hangar for jet aircraft, which cost around DM 10 million, was made in July 1963 by the Supervisory Board of Flughafen München GmbH; the architect was Rolf Zuleger. The 4 each 15m x 15m [...]
  • ADAC rescue helicopter stationed in Riem

    From June 13th to October 6th, 1968 the first ADAC rescue helicopter in Germany was in a test series at Munich Airport. The helicopter of the type Bell 206 A Jet Ranger was rented at the time from the company Süd Helicopter (today MHS Aviation Grünwald). In the machine, two patients could sit on normal stretchers, one above the other, across [...]
  • Munich Airport moves to Nuremberg

    These aircraft stairs are ready for departure at Munich-Riem Airport! Just like most of the rest of the moving inventory, they are brought to Franconia in a convoy of around 20 vehicles under police protection. Because from August 11th to August 31st 1969, that is for three weeks, Munich will be a cosmopolitan city with a heart, but without [...]
  • Location decision for the new Munich airport

    On August 5, 1969, the Bavarian Council of Ministers published the following resolution: The State Government acknowledges and approves the results of the site investigations presented by the Council of Ministers for Economics and Transport, in which the construction of the Munich II airport at the Erding-Nord site is proposed. The responsible ministries of state are instructed to immediately send all necessary for the construction of the Munich II airport to [...]
  • General overhaul of the runway

    After the Second World War, the runway 07R / 25L was put into operation at Munich Airport in 1949 with a length of 1,900 long and 60 meters wide, and in 1958 it was extended by 700 meters using the same construction method. The first section from 1948, however, showed considerable surface damage almost 15 years after construction: [...]
  • Bridging measures at Riem Airport

    The bridging work at Munich-Riem Airport will be completed by spring 1972. After it went into operation, according to planning, five to six million passengers could be handled at Munich-Riem Airport, which corresponded to a doubling of the previous handling capacity in preparation for the 1972 Summer Olympics in Munich. In detail, the following measures had been carried out by then: New arrival hall Construction of a [...]
  • New arrival hall at Munich-Riem Airport

    The new arrival hall at Munich-Riem Airport, which was put into operation on April 21, 1971, was a flat, single-storey building made of reinforced concrete / precast construction; the construction costs for the hall were around 5.6 million DM. The new arrival hall was part of the so-called bridging measures at Munich Airport, which were implemented in their entirety in spring 1972 [...]
  • Expert advice on planning reports for the new Munich Airport

    For five days (April 26th to April 30th, 1971) an international examination committee consulted at the invitation of Flughafen München GmbH on the planning reports for planning phase 1, which had been drawn up by six working groups of domestic and foreign engineering offices over the course of nine months . Planning phase 1 includes the creation of a land use and function plan for the site [...]
  • Departure hall abroad expanded

    As a further component of the so-called bridging measures at Munich-Riem Airport, the expansion of the departure hall abroad (waiting room A) was completed in early June 1971. The ground-level extension for international departure traffic covered an area of 1575 square meters. 6 gates were available, which enable the so-called "gate check-in handling system". This system provides that passengers without baggage who are already in possession of a [...]
  • Construction work begins on the new Munich Airport

    On November 3, 1980, construction work for the new Munich airport in Erdinger Moos began. But just 5 months later, work on the construction of the new Munich airport was stopped for over 4 years. On April 16, 1981, the Bavarian Administrative Court ordered construction to be halted because the planned space requirement for the new airport was too
  • MUCII - construction freeze for 4 years and hard times in Riem

    On November 3, 1980 the time had come: construction work for the new Munich Airport began in Erdinger Moos. But they were stopped again after just five months. The Bavarian Administrative Court (VGH) ordered a construction freeze on April 16, 1981 by revoking the "immediate enforceability" of the planning approval decision. Main reasoning of the court: There will be too much land for the new airport [...]
  • Decision on the construction of a new exhibition center on the Flughafen-Riem site

    In 1983, the last extensions to the Munich exhibition center on the Schwanthalerhöhe were carried out - a further expansion of the Munich Exhibition Center was no longer conceivable for reasons of space. In 1985, the head of the trade fair at the time, Werner Marzin, wrote a memorandum “On the situation and future prospects of the Munich trade fair center”. In the document, the former head of the trade fair describes "a healthy further development of the [...]
  • Terminal 2 opened at Riem Airport

    Since November 1988 Munich Airport has had a second terminal that was used exclusively for charter traffic.

Objects of the Munich-Riem airport

en_USEnglish

Entwicklung des Flughafen München in Riem

Die Entwicklung des Münchner Flughafens von 1900 bis 2000. Technische Entwicklung, Rückschläge und politische Entscheidungen des Flughafens im 100 Jahres-Rückblick.

Von der Rasenpiste zum modernen Flughafen

Die Fliegerei ist seit 1920 ein Thema in München. Die ersten Flugzeuge starteten und landeten auf Graspisten im Oberwiesenfeld. Schnell wurde jedoch klar, dass dieser Flugplatz den Anforderungen an die moderne Fliegerei nicht langfristig gerecht werden würde. In Riem wurde damit ein moderner Flughafen errichtet, der durch die Kriegsjahre stark beschädigt, nach dem Kriegsende eilig saniert wurde. Bis Ende der 1960er Jahre war der modernisierte Flughafen München den Anforderungen an den Münchner Flugverkehr gewachsen. Die Olympischen Sommer-Spiele 1972 und der zunehmende Bedarf an Pauschalreisen ließ aber erahnen, dass der Flughafen in Riem zu klein wird. Anfangs wurden Pläne entwickelt, den Flughafen in Riem weiter auszubauen. Die Öchsle-Kommission gelangte aber zu dem Ergebnis, einen neuen Großflughafen ausserhalb Münchens zu planen. Für Riem bedeutete das, die Zeit bis zur Fertigstellung des neuen Münchner Großflughafens durch eilig herbeigeführte „Überbrückungsbaumaßnahmen“ für die kommenden Jahre zu kompensieren, während zeitgleich der Anspruch an Flugkapazitäten dramatisch zunahm. Bis zuletzt musste der Riemer Airport also mit Flickwerken zusammengehalten werden, bis er im Jahr 1992 endlich „erlöst“ werden konnte.

Obwohl der neue Flughafen München im Erdinger Moos bereits großzügig geplant wurde , durch Bürgerbegehren aber kastriert gebaut werden musste (z.B. statt 4 nur 2 Start- und Landebahnen) stehen auch dort die Entwicklung seit Jahren nicht still. Ein Flughafen steht eben nie still – zumindest in Bayern.

 

Meilensteine des Flughafen-München Riem

  • 3. Mai 1931
  • 1. Juni 1936
  • 11. Januar 1937
  • 25. Oktober 1939
  • 1. März 1948
  • 22. November 1949
  • 16. Juni 1951
  • 25. Oktober 1965
  • 13. Juni 1968
  • 4. August 1969
  • 5. August 1969
  • 11. August 1969
  • 1. Dezember 1970
  • 21. April 1971
  • 26. April 1971
  • 3. Juni 1971
  • 3. November 1980
  • 16. April 1981
  • 9. Dezember 1987
  • 15. November 1988
  • Eröffnung Flughafen Oberwiesenfeld

    Bereits seit Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts bot das Münchner Oberwiesenfeld eine Landefläche für Ballone und Luftschiffe. Mit dem verstärkten Aufkommen der Flugzeuge wurde der Flugplatz Oberwiesenfeld ab 1909 als militärischer Flugplatz genutzt, ab 1920 fungierte dieser auch für den zivilen Luftverkehr. Der Flugplatz Oberwiesenfeld konnte jedoch den stetig wachsenden Anforderungen des Luftverkehrs nicht gerecht werden: […]
  • Planung für einen neuen Flughafen in München

    Der Flugplatz im Oberwiesenfeld wird den Anforderungen an den Flugverkehr trotz Erweiterungen im Jahr 1931 nicht mehr gerecht. Im Jahr 1936 wird daher mit der Planung eines neuen Flughafens in München-Riem begonnen. Architekt ist Ernst Sagebiel, der auch für die Flughäfen in Berlin, Stuttgart und Dresden verantwortlich zeichnete.
  • Baubeginn am Flughafen München-Riem

    Im Jahr 1937 wurde mit dem Neubau des Flughafen-München Riem begonnen. Im Jahr 1938 war der Bau bereits weitgehend abgeschlossen. Errichtet wurden der Kontrollturm mit dem dahinterliegenden Verwaltungsgebäude, sowie der Empfangshalle (Wappenhalle), sowie den Flughzeughallen auf etwa 400 Metern Länge. Die Baukosten betrugen rund 32.000 Millionen Reichsmark.
  • Neuer Luftverkehrsflughafen der Landeshauptstadt München

    Die Verlegung des zivilen Luftverkehrs vom Flugplatz Oberwiesenfeld auf den neuen Flughafen München-Riem ist abgeschlossen. Im Jahre 1936 wurde als neuer Standort für den Münchner Flughafen ein Platz südlich von Riem gewählt. Der Baubeginn war 1937, die Planung für den Flughafen erfolgte durch den Architekten Ernst Sagebiel, der auch für die Flughäfen Berlin Tempelhof, Dresden […]
  • Beginn der Wetteraufzeichnungen am Flughafen München

    Am 01.03.1948 wird die Klimamessung und Wetteraufzeichnung am Flughafen München-Riem begonnen. Bis zum September 1949 erfolgt die Wettbeobachtung und Wetterberatung durch amerikanisches Personal, mit Übergabe des Flughafens erfolgt der Übergang zur Wettervorhersage durch deutsche Meteorologen. Seit März 1950 wurden durchgängig Wetterbeobachtungen in Riem durchgeführt. Quellen: https://www.dwd.de/
  • Inbetriebnahme der neuen Start- und Landebahn

    Am 22. November 1949 kann neben dem Flughafenrestaurant mit Festsaal, dem Bierstüberl und der Sonnenterrasse, sowie 10 neuen Hotelzimmern direkt im Flughafen, die 1907 Meter lange und 60 Meter breits neue Start- und Landebahn des Flughafen München in Betrieb genommen werden. Auf der neuen Runway welche in bituminöser Bauweise gefertigt und in einem Spezialverfahren gehärtet wurde, können […]
  • Eröffnung der Wappenhalle am Flughafen Riem

    Ursprünglich sollte der Flughafen München-Riem mitsamt der eindrucksvollen Empfangshalle, auch Wappenhalle genannt, am 01.09.1939 feierlich eröffnet werden – jedoch wurde dies durch den zeitgleichen Beginn des zweiten Weltkrieges verhindert. Nach Kriegsende waren 70% des Flughafens zerstört, auch die Wappenhalle wurde stark beschädigt. So war beispielsweise das Dach der Wappenhalle mit der wertvollen Kassettendecke eingestürzt. In Ermangelung einer funktionsfähigen Abfertigungshalle […]
  • Eröffnung der Lufthansa-Wartungshalle

    Nach eineinhalb Jahren Bauzeit wird der neue Lufthansa-Hangar, welcher vor allem für den „Euro-Jet“ (Boeing 727) erbaut wurde, feierlich eröffnet. Der Entschluss zum Bau der rund 10 Millionen DM teuren Lufthansa Wartungshalle für Düsenflugzeuge erfolgte im Juli 1963 durch den Aufsichtsrat der Flughafen München GmbH, Architekt war Rolf Zuleger. Die 4 je 15m x 15m […]
  • ADAC Rettungshubschrauber in Riem stationiert

    Vom 13. Juni bis 6. Oktober 1968 war auf dem Flughafen München der erste Rettungshubschrauber Deutschlands des ADAC im Rahmen einer Versuchsreihe ein. Der Hubschrauber vom Typ Bell 206 A Jet Ranger wurde seinerzeit bei der Firma Süd Helicopter (Heute MHS Aviation Grünwald) angemietet. In der Maschine konnten zwei Patienten auf normalen Krankentragen übereinander, quer […]
  • Münchner Flughafen zieht nach Nürnberg um

    Zur Abfahrt bereit stehen diese Flugzeugtreppen auf dem Flughafen München-Riem! Genau wie der größte Teil des weiteren beweglichen Inventars werden sie mit einem Konvoi von rund 20 Fahrzeugen unter Polizeischutz in Richtung Franken gebracht. Denn vom 11. August bis 31. August 1969, also drei Wochen lang, wird München zwar eine Weltstadt mit Herz, aber ohne […]
  • Standortbeschluß für den neuen Münchner Flughafen

    Am 5. August 1969 veröffentlichte der Bayerische Ministerrat folgenden Beschluß: Die Staatsregierung nimmt von dem vom Ministerrat für Wirtschaft und Verkehr vorgetragenen Ergebnis der Standortuntersuchungen, in dem die Errichtung des Verkehrsflughafens München II am Standort Erding-Nord vorgeschlagen wird, zustimmend Kenntnis. Die zuständigen Staatsministerien werden beauftragt, unverzüglich alle für die Errichtung -des Verkehrsflughafens München II an […]
  • Generalinstandsetzung der Start- und Landebahn

    Nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg wurde die Start- und Landebahn 07R/25L im Jahr 1949 mit einer Länge von 1900 Länge und 60 Meter Breite am Flughafen München in Betrieb genommen, im Jahr 1958 in gleicher Bauweise um 700 Meter verlängert. Der erste Teilabschnitt aus dem Jahr 1948 wies allerdings knapp 15 Jahre nach dem Bau erhebliche Oberflächenschäden auf: […]
  • Überbrückungsmaßnahmen am Flughafen Riem

    Bis zum Frühjahr 1972 werden die Überbrückungsbaumaßnahmen am Flughafen München-Riem beendet sein. Nach deren Inbetriebnahme konnten lt. Planung am Flughafen München-Riem fünf bis sechs Millionen Passagiere abgefertigt werden, das entsprach einer Verdoppelung der bisherigen Abfertigungskapazität in Vorbereitung auf die Olympischen Sommerspiele 1972 in München. Im einzelnen wurden bis dahin folgende Maßnahmen durchgeführt: Neue Ankunftshalle Errichtung einer […]
  • Neue Ankunftshalle am Flughafen München-Riem

    Bei der neuen Ankunftshalle des Flughafens München-Riem, die am 21. 4. 1971 in Betrieb genommen wurde, handelte es sich um einen ebenerdigen Flachbau, der aus Stahlbeton-/Fertigteilkonstruktion errichtet wurde, die Baukosten für die Halle betrugen rund 5,6 Mio DM. Die neue Ankunftshalle war Bestandteil der sogenannten Überbrückungsmaßnahmen am Flughafen München, die im Frühjahr 1972 in ihrer Gesamtheit […]
  • Expertenberatung über Planungsgutachten für neuen Flughafen München

    Fünf Tage lang (26. 4. bis 30. 4. 1971) beriet eine internationale Prüfungskommission auf Einladung der Flughafen München GmbH über die Planungsgutachten für die Planungsphase 1, die von sechs Arbeitsgemeinschaften in- und ausländischer Ingenieurbüros im Verlauf von neun Monaten erstellt worden waren. Die Planungsphase 1 umfaßt die Erstellung eines Flächennutzungs- und Funktionsplanes für das Gelände […]
  • Abflughalle Ausland erweitert

    Als weiterer Bestandteil der sogenannten Überbrückungsmaßnahmen am Flughafen München-Riem wurde Anfang Juni 1971 die Erweiterung der Abflug­halle Ausland (Warteraum A) fertiggestellt. Der ebenerdige Erweiterungsbau für den Auslandabflugverkehr umfaßte eine Fläche von 1575 qm. 6 Flugsteige standen zur Verfügung, die das sogenannte „Gate-Check-In-Abfertigungssystem“ er­möglichen. Dieses System sieht vor, daß Fluggäste ohne Reisegepäck, die bereits im Besitz eines […]
  • Bauarbeiten am neuen Flughafen München beginnen

    Am 3. November 1980 wird mit den Bauarbeiten für den neuen Münchner Flughafen im Erdinger Moos begonnen. Doch bereits 5 Monate später wurden die Arbeiten für den Bau des neuen Münchner Flughafen für über 4 Jahre eingestellt. Der Bayerische Verwaltungsgerichtshof hatte am 16. April 1981 einen Baustopp verfügt, da der geplante Flächenbedarf des neuen Flughafen zu […]
  • MUCII – Baustopp für 4 Jahre und harte Zeiten in Riem

    Am 3. November 1980 war es soweit: Im Erdinger Moos wurde mit den Bauarbeiten für den neuen Flughafen München begonnen. Doch bereits nach fünf Monaten wurden sie wieder gestoppt. Der Bayerische Verwaltungsgerichtshof (VGH) verfügte am 16.April 1981 einen Baustopp, indem er die „sofortige Vollziehbarkeit“ des Planfeststellungsbeschlusses aufhob. Hauptbegründung des Gerichts: Für den neuen Flughafen werde zuviel Gelände […]
  • Beschluss über den Neubau eines Messegeländes auf dem Flughafen-Riem Areal

    1983 wurden auf dem Münchner Messegelände auf der Schwanthalerhöhe die letzten Erweiterungsbauten durchgeführt – eine weitere Vergrößerung der Messe München war aus platztechnischen Gründen nicht mehr denkbar. Der damalige Messechef Werner Marzin verfasst 1985 eine Denkschrift „Zur Situation und den Zukunftsperspektiven des Messeplatzes München“. In dem Dokument beschreibt der ehemalige Messechef „eine gesunde Weiterentwicklung des […]
  • Terminal 2 am Flughafen Riem eröffnet

    Seit November 1988 verfügte der Flughafen München über ein zweites Terminal, das ausschliesslich für den Charterverkehr genutzt wurde.

Objekte des Flughafen München-Riem