On November 3, 1980 the time had come: construction work for the new Munich Airport began in Erdinger Moos. But they were stopped again after just five months. The Bavarian Administrative Court (VGH) ordered a construction freeze on April 16, 1981 by revoking the "immediate enforceability" of the planning approval decision.

Main reasoning of the court: Too much land is being used for the new airport. After revising the planning and reducing the area required from 2050 hectares to 1387 hectares, Flughafen München GmbH applied for a change to the planning approval decision. After the documents in the communities around the new airport had again been displayed for comments, the government of Upper Bavaria issued the plan amendment decision in May 1984. On this basis, the Bavarian Administrative Court lifted the construction freeze on March 8, 1985. Construction work on the new Munich Airport resumed on December 19, 1985 - after a delay of around four years.

Until the new airport goes into operation, Flughafen München GmbH in Munich-Riem tries to make ends meet as well as possible. Because air traffic also experienced an enormous upswing in the 80s - in 1985 the number of passengers exceeded the 8 million mark. To alleviate the worst bottlenecks, a separate terminal for charter passengers was opened in November 1988. A provisional solution, like so many things now at the once modern Munich-Riem Airport.

en_USEnglish

Am 3. November 1980 war es soweit: Im Erdinger Moos wurde mit den Bauarbeiten für den neuen Flughafen München begonnen. Doch bereits nach fünf Monaten wurden sie wieder gestoppt. Der Bayerische Verwaltungsgerichtshof (VGH) verfügte am 16.April 1981 einen Baustopp, indem er die „sofortige Vollziehbarkeit“ des Planfeststellungsbeschlusses aufhob.

Hauptbegründung des Gerichts: Für den neuen Flughafen werde zuviel Gelände verbraucht. Nach Überarbeitung der Planung und einer damit verbundenen Reduzierung des Flächenbedarfs von 2050 Hektar auf 1387 Hektar stellte die Flughafen München GmbH Antrag auf Änderung des Planfeststellungsbeschlusses. Nachdem die Unterlagen in den Gemeinden im Umland des neuen Flughafens erneut zur Stellungnahme ausgelegen hatten, erließ die Regierung von Oberbayern im Mai 1984 den Planänderungsbeschluß. Auf dieser Grundlage hob der Bayerische Verwaltungsgerichtshof am 8. März 1985 den Baustopp auf. Die Bauarbeiten für den neuen Flughafen München wurden am 19. Dezember 1985 – nach rund vierjähriger Verzögerung wieder aufgenommen.

Bis zur Inbetriebnahme des neuen Flughafens versucht die Flughafen München GmbH in München-Riem so gut wie möglich über die Runden zu kommen. Denn auch in den 80er Jahren erfährt der Luftverkehr einen enormen Aufschwung – 1985 übersteigt das Fluggast-Aufkommen inzwischen die 8-Millionen-Grenze. Um die schlimmsten Engpässe zu lindern, wurde im November 1988 ein eigenes Terminal für Charterfluggäste seiner Bestimmung übergeben. Ein Provisorium, wie so vieles inzwischen am einstmals modernen Flughafen München-Riem.