The new arrival hall at Munich-Riem Airport, which was put into operation on April 21, 1971, was a ground floor, low-rise building made of reinforced concrete / prefabricated construction; the building costs for the hall were around 5.6 million DM.

The new arrival hall was part of the so-called bridging measures at Munich Airport, which were completed in their entirety in spring 1972. From 1972 onwards, between 5.5 and 6 million passengers could be handled annually at Munich-Riem Airport. Before that, the handling capacity was around 3 million passengers a year, with around 3.5 million passengers having to pass through the handling facilities as early as 1970, some of them with considerable operational difficulties.

As a result of the limited useful life of the new buildings, during the construction planning, which was in the hands of Dept. Building Construction 2 of the City of Munich's Building Department, the aim was to carry out the bridging measures from the point of view of the greatest economic efficiency, as well as the possibility of a later simple dismantling of the halls .

New for passengers and collectors

The commissioning of the arrival hall resulted in a "new concept" for the handling systems in Munich-Riem: Departures and arrivals were housed in separate building complexes. Since then, the previous main airport building has only been used to handle departing passengers.

Domestic - international arrival area

Passengers arriving from abroad went through passport control after entering the arrival hall and into the international baggage claim area. There the passengers practically took their luggage from the output belts in passing and reached the collection area after customs control. Passengers arriving from the inland had an even shorter route in the future than before. Immediately after arriving in the arrivals hall, they went to the pick-up area. For domestic passengers with luggage - experience shows that every second domestic passenger has luggage with them - the baggage claim area was in the western part of the arrival hall.

Nine triangular, circumferential baggage claim belts were installed in the baggage claim area, four of them on the domestic side and five on the international side. The system for the baggage claim corresponded to the latest state of the art. Until the completion of the connecting building in March 1972, passengers transferring after the passport, customs and security checks in the eastern part of the arrival hall were transported by buses to the transit room in the main building.

Information system

Particular importance was attached to the clarity through new information signs. In terms of color and design, this corresponded to the guidelines recommended in the book of standards on “Pictograms for orientation at airports”. The standards book was published by the Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Verkehrsflughäfen (ADV) with the aim of achieving the most uniform information signage possible at German airports.

So-called pictograms were used for the signage, which were developed by the ADV and the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO). A pictorial representation of the information board was intended to enable quick orientation and avoid language difficulties. As expected, other organizations such as B. the Committee for the Organization of the Summer Olympic Games in Munich and the trade fair companies of the German trade fair cities have adopted these pictograms. The information signs in the new arrival hall were largely made of light boxes, with the signs relating to the operational sequence in yellow and the signs indicating passenger service in green.

Customs clearance

The two-channel customs clearance system at Munich-Riem Airport was new. The route through customs was clearly marked with green and red signs. In this way, passengers with goods that did not require registration could freely pass the green exits, although they had to reckon with random samples. The red exits, on the other hand, are reserved for passengers with goods that have to be registered. This two-channel customs clearance system, which has been tried and tested at domestic and foreign airports, is still used today at many airports to speed up customs clearance. The airlines informed the passengers of the new customs clearance system via the on-board loudspeaker when they landed. In addition, customs distributed relevant leaflets to the passengers on their arrival in the hall.

Pick-up area

The pick-up area in the arrival hall covered around 900 square meters and had around 200 seats. In addition to various shops, a post office, a bank, offices and counter boxes for scheduled and charter airlines and car rental companies were set up.

Right of way and parking spaces

The right of way in front of the arrival hall was possible on two streets next to each other, whereby the sidewalks were covered over the entire length of the arrival hall. The newly created parking spaces in the arrival hall area had 264 short-term and around 1,700 medium-term and long-term parking spaces available for passengers and those collecting them. In addition, 100 new taxi and 23 bus parking stands were created.

Technical data of the arrival hall

Floor space: 8000 sqm
Height: 4.75 m
Length: 136 m
Width: 61 m

 

en_USEnglish

Bei der neuen Ankunftshalle des Flughafens München-Riem, die am 21. 4. 1971 in Betrieb genommen wurde, handelte es sich um einen ebenerdigen Flachbau, der aus Stahlbeton-/Fertigteilkonstruktion errichtet wurde, die Baukosten für die Halle betrugen rund 5,6 Mio DM.

Die neue Ankunftshalle war Bestandteil der sogenannten Überbrückungsmaßnahmen am Flughafen München, die im Frühjahr 1972 in ihrer Gesamtheit fertiggestellt wurden. Ab 1972 konnten dann am Flughafen München-Riem jährlich zwischen 5,5 und 6 Mio Fluggäste abgefertigt werden. Die Abfertigungskapazität lag davor bei etwa 3 Mio Flug­gästen jährlich, wobei bereits im Jahr 1970 rund 3,5 Millionen Passagiere — zum Teil unter erheblichen betrieblichen Schwie­rigkeiten — durch die Abfertigungsanlagen geschleust werden mußten.

Infolge der zeitlich beschränkten Nutzungsdauer der neuen Gebäudeanlagen wurde bei der Bauplanung, die in den Händen der Abt. Hochbau 2 des Baureferates der Stadt München lag, angestrebt, die Überbrückungsmaßnahmen unter dem Gesichtspunkt der größten Wirtschaftlichkeit, sowie der Möglichkeit einer später einfachen Demontage der Hallen auszuführen.

Neu für Passagiere und Abholer

Mit der Inbetriebnahme der Ankunftshalle ergab sich ein „neues Konzept“ der Abfertigungsanlagen in München-Riem: Abflug und Ankunft waren in getrennten Gebäude­komplexen untergebracht. Das bisherige Flughafenhaupt­gebäude diente seither nur noch der Abfertigung abfliegender Flug­gäste.

Ankunftsbereich Inland – Ausland

Die aus dem Ausland ankommenden Passagiere gingen nach Betreten der Ankunftshalle durch die Paßkontrolle weiter in die Gepäckausgabe Ausland. Dort nahmen die Fluggäste prak­tisch im Vorübergehen ihr Gepäck von den Ausgabebändern und erreichen nach der Zollkontrolle den Abholerbereich. Die aus dem Inland ankommenden Passagiere hatten in der Zu­kunft einen noch kürzeren Weg als bisher. Sie gelangten un­mittelbar nach Eintreffen in der Ankunftshalle in den Abholerbereich. Für Inlandsfluggäste mit Gepäck — erfah­rungsgemäß führt jeder zweite Inlandspassagier Reisegepäck mit sich — lag die Gepäckausgabe im Westteil der Ankunfts­halle.

Im Gepäckausgabebereich waren neun dreieckförmige umlau­fende Gepäckausgabebänder installiert, davon vier auf der Inlands- und fünf auf der Auslandsseite. Die Anlage für die Gepäckausgabe entsprach dabei dem neuesten Stand der Technik. Bis zur Fertigstellung des Verbindungsgebäudes im März 1972 wurden umsteigende Fluggäste nach der Paß-, Zoll- und Sicher­heitskontrolle im Ostteil der Ankunftshalle mit Bussen zum Transitraum im Hauptgebäude befördert.

Informationssystem

Besonderer Wert wurde auf die Übersichtlichkeit durch eine neue Informationsbeschilderung gelegt. Diese entsprach in Farbgebung und Gestaltung den im Normenbuch über „Pikto­gramme zur Orientierung auf Flughäfen“ empfohlenen Richtlinien. Das Normenbuch wurde von der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Deutscher Verkehrsflughäfen (ADV) herausgegeben mit dem Bestreben, eine möglichst einheitliche Informationsbeschilde­rung auf den deutschen Flughäfen zu erreichen.

Bei der Beschilderung fanden sog. Piktogramme Verwendung, die von der ADV bzw. der International Civil Aviation Orga­nization (ICAO) erarbeitet wurden. Durch eine bildhafte Darstellung der Hinweistafel sollten eine rasche Orientierung er­reicht und Sprachschwierigkeiten vermieden werden. Wie zu erwarten, hatten auch andere Organisationen, wie z. B. das Komi­tee zur Organisation der Olympischen Sommerspiele in Mün­chen und die Messegesellschaften der deutschen Messestädte, diese Piktogramme übernommen. Die Hinweisbeschil­derung in der neuen Ankunftshalle erfolgte weitgehend durch Leuchtkästen, wobei die den Betriebsablauf betreffende Beschil­derung in Gelb, die auf Passagierservice hinweisende Beschilde­rung in Grün gehalten waren.

Zollabfertigung

Neu war das Zweikanal-Zollabfertigungssystem am Flughafen München-Riem. Der Weg durch den Zoll wurde durch grüne und rote Hinweistafeln deutlich gekennzeichnet. So konnten Flug­gäste mit anmeldefreier Ware die grünen Ausgänge frei passieren, wobei sie jedoch mit Stichproben rechnen mussten. Die roten Ausgänge hingegen bleiben Passagieren mit anmelde­pflichtigen Waren vorbehalten. Dieses an in- und ausländischen Flughäfen erprobte Zweikanal-Zollabfertigungssystem wird heute noch an vielen Flughäfen zur Beschleunigung der Zollabfertigung durchgeführt. Die Passagiere wurden von den Fluggesellschaften bereits bei der Landung über den Bordlautsprecher auf das neue Zoll­abfertigungssystem hingewiesen. Darüber hinaus verteilte der Zoll entsprechende Merkblätter an die Passagiere bei ihrer Ankunft in der Halle.

Abholbereich

Der Abholerbereich der Ankunftshalle umfaßte rund 900 qm und verfügte über rund 200 Sitzplätze. Neben verschiedenen Geschäften wurden ein Postamt, eine Bank sowie die Büros und Schalterboxen für Linien- und Charterfluggesellschaften und Autovermietungsunternehmen eingerichtet.

Vorfahrt und Parkplätze

Die Vorfahrt vor der Ankunftshalle war auf zwei nebenein­anderliegenden Straßen möglich, wobei die Gehsteige über die gesamte Länge der Ankunftshalle überdacht waren. Den Fluggästen und Abholern standen auf den neuangelegten Parkplätzen im Bereich der Ankunftshalle 264 Kurzzeit- und rund 1700 Mittel- bzw. Langzeitparkstände zur Verfügung. Außerdem wurden 100 neue Taxi- sowie 23 Busparkstände geschaffen.

Technische Daten der Ankunftshalle

Grundfläche:8000 qm
Höhe:4,75 m
Länge:136 m
Breite:61 m